Types of clouds

There are several types of clouds, classified according to their shape, height and composition. In general, clouds are classified into ten different categories, according to the international cloud classification system established by the World Meteorological Organization (WMO). The ten categories are:

  1. Cirrus: thin, stringy clouds found at high altitude.
  2. Cirrostratus: Extensive clouds, usually without shade, forming a uniform cover.
  3. Cirrocumulus: clouds shaped like grains of rice, often occurring in bands.
  4. Alto: Clouds at low altitude, often dark and associated with bad weather conditions.
  5. Stratocumulus: low, thick clouds, often associated with light rain.
  6. Stratus: low, uniform clouds, often covering the entire sky.
  7. Cumulus: thick, voluminous clouds, often associated with sunny weather.
  8. Cumulonimbus: Violent clouds, often associated with severe thunderstorms and extreme weather conditions.
  9. Nimbostratus: gray and uniform clouds, often associated with continuous rain.
  10. Contrails: trails left by aircraft in the sky.

These ten categories of clouds can be combined to form complex formations. Meteorologists use these categories to determine current weather conditions and forecast future conditions. It is important to note that clouds can change rapidly, depending on changing atmospheric conditions.

Check out my cloud wall posters HERE

Reading next

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.